Massive Wagons

04/29/2022
Photo by John McMurtrie, used with permission of Baz
Photo by John McMurtrie, used with permission of Baz

Massive Wagons formed in 2009 in Lancaster. Lead singer Baz said: "[it is] hard to define our music really, we write and play what we want; heavy rock, metal, country, rock, punk. We've got a bit of all sorts going on really - but it's all done in good spirits. It's easy music to get on with."

When googling the band, I found that they were inspired by the likes of Status Quo - and had actually opened for them at one point! Baz said: "everyone in the band has a huge range of musical influences, we listen to all sorts... metal bands like Judas Priest, and we definitely draw on those influences. Good music is good music, and I think it is timeless!"

Baz had left the RAF before starting the band, which originally played covers: "I'd drunk my body weight in beer for a few months, got that out of my system and got bored. I decided to pick up the bass guitar. My dad played played for a lot of years in bands so I thought I'd have a go, I started a cover band with some mates - and here we are!" He then went onto explain that the cover band broke down and then Massive Wagons was formed. "It was just born out of a love of music and needing something to do and some direction - I can't really believe it's still a thing!" Baz's favourite part of being a musician is writing music, "I love getting music from Adam [band member], listening to it and just being creative with it."

"Interaction with fans for a band is just key, for our band anyway. We've always done it and it pays off, be that live on stage, after shows or online. Make the effort [and] people love it, anything chatting absolute sh*t with them to signing stuff to online music and live streams." When I saw Massive Wagons live on December 2nd 2021, they were incredible, and definitely had a great rapport with the audience. The band's pure energy was insane, and there is clearly a great relationship between them all.