My Chemical Romance - 'The Foundations of Decay' Single Review

05/13/2022
2022 promotional image of My Chemical Romance. Photographer unknown
2022 promotional image of My Chemical Romance. Photographer unknown

My Chemical Romance, an American rockband who were the soundtrack to a lot of people's childhoods in the early to mid-2000s, reformed in 2019 with the promise of a return to live performances. Obviously, coronavirus had other plans, however they are just about to return to the UK.

The band have just released their first new music since 2014's Fake Your Death.

Foundations of Decay, released only yesterday, was a surprise single. It is loud, fierce and worthy of a place on the band's debut album, I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love, which was released in 2002. Foundations is a six-minute epic scream-o number, full of epic highs. The fierceness of lead singer Gerard Way's voice despite several years out of the spotlight as a musician has not changed, and it is as emotional as any song currently under My Chemical Romance's belt.

I don't particularly like the screamier songs by MCR, however I have waited so long for new music from the band that I feel I am not in a place to complain. It is, in every way, the perfect return to a pedestal which has always been, and will always be, theirs.

My Chemical Romance, welcome back. I hope that you are here to stay.